The Wraparound Porch, and Maggie May

A “throwback Thursday” post.  Too soon?  Who cares.  Is that even a “thing” for a blog?  The photo is from Fall, and this is the middle of Winter.  I think it works.

Three weeks after I moved into Henry, the lady across the street started asking if I was going to keep the Christmas lights hanging around the porch.  She thought I liked them!  Oh, the horror!  I realized it was time to turn my attention to curb appeal, at least temporarily.

So I picked up some mums and chardonnay, and spent the afternoon on the porch with the dogs.  OK, with Shadow.  Chip wanted to sleep inside on the couch, listening to Oscar Peterson.  Or not.  Who knows with him.

See the porch sconce lights?  There was a bird nest on one of them.  I spent an inordinate amount of time scrubbing the poop away.  Years worth of accumulation.  It was all over the siding and the stoop.  That stuff is like glue.  Stoop poop.

I’ve recently read that club soda works well for bird poop, and is gentle enough for auto paint.  However, I used vinegar and baking soda, rinsed with water, repeat as needed.

The street number?  Used to be on the railing post.  I moved it to the rise of the top step.  I grew up in a shoreline town, and many of the beachfront properties displayed the numbers there.  I’ve always liked that, and it is very easy to see from the road.

I have PLANS for this view.  Stay tuned.

Front Porch 2015
Henry, late September 2015

Wake up Henry, I think I got something to say to you

It’s late September and I really should be back at work
I know I keep you amused and I feel I’m being schmoozed
Oh Henry, you had so many quirks
You lured me away from home just to save you from being alone
You stole my heart, you sold it all as perks

The morning sun when it’s in your face really shows your age
But that don’t worry me none in my eyes you’re everything
I laughed at all of your jokes, my love you didn’t need to coax
Oh, Henry I couldn’t have tried any more
You lured me away from home, just to save you from being alone
You stole my soul, I couldn’t leave you if I tried

Leave a Reply

