The Laundry Area

This small hardworking space is going to see some major changes.  The heirs sold these Bosch machines, but I have some Frigidaire beauties of my own.

This is how the laundry area looked during my first appointment at Henry.
This is the laundry area during my first walk-through at Henry.  Look how the walls fight with the tile floor.
My Frigidaires, in the newly painted space.
My Frigidaires, in the newly painted space.  Valspar’s Dogwood Petal, same as the rest of the house will be.

First things first.  Get my stuff installed.  My amazing brothers – the Chainsaw Guys – had “other stuff to do later” on moving day, so they didn’t set their baby sister up, the way normal, considerate, non-Neanderthals would have done.  So I had to deal with this:

Seriously.
Seriously.  Ain’t nobody got time for that.

I bought the 4 prong cable.  Then I ignored it for a couple of days.  But I was running out of the few clean clothes that weren’t packed away.  I had to do this.

Thank God for YouTube.  And wine.

Probably not so much wine with high voltage.  But if I fried myself, I’d be saving the next 30 years worth of mortgage payments, right?

I turned off the circuit breaker anyway.

Four wires from the cable, three terminals.
Four wires from the cable.  Must connect to three contacts.
All done! Wired and grounded properly.
All done! Wired and grounded properly.  The trick is the machine’s white ground wire.  See how it changed place?

Even the Chainsaw Guys were impressed.  Not that I care, mind you.

All hooked up and ready to go. I DID THIS.
All hooked up and ready to go. I DID THIS.

Here we are, with new dryer vent hose, elbows, and braided cable washer hoses.  All installed by Yours Truly.  Everything works.  And nothing burned down.  And no one was electrocuted.

Moving on to the next project for now.  I have more plans for organization and unity here, but they will have to wait.

Leave a Reply

