Day One

front door

You only unlock the door – for the very first time – once.

I walked inside, Henry was quiet and empty.  I felt calm.  Peaceful.  I walked through the rooms, checked the repairs.  I told Henry about some of the changes I wanted to make.  It seemed well received.  It didn’t occur to me until later that it might be weird to talk to a house.

I’ve worked very hard for this.  For a very long time.  Exactly five years ago, I walked out of a bad situation and into a mountain of debt.  And I paid all of it.  To me, it was the only way to put that old life behind me once and for all.  And now, it seems like it happened to someone else.

I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention the old cabin in Otis.  I wouldn’t be here with Henry, if it weren’t for Otis, and all that went along with it.  I loved that place.  It is a big part of who I am.  I’m so grateful that our family had the opportunity to enjoy the cabin and the lake for all those years, and I’m so thankful I’ve been able to apply my little portion of that into another meaningful property.

The Boys seemed to handle the introduction to Henry fairly well.  Cookies helped, they always do.

Boys meet Henry
Chip and Shadow make their first observations from the back deck.
Leave a Reply

